Today in memorable opening paragraphs


I have known loss for centuries. I have borne the deaths of each of my companions, both dear and tolerated. I have lost families, loves, houses, villages. Whole cities, whole nations, have grown and decayed while I have persisted. I have seen rivers change their course, mountains beaten down into hills, oceans swell and subside, seeds grow into great trees only to fall and die and rot. And yet this loss – the loss of one child – this loss I cannot bear.

If I were human I’d weep.

Rupetta, N. A Sulway

How wonderful. The phrasing makes my eye slow down. I get the impression of the immense passage of time. The inevitability of change and of the slow ebb and flow of the landscape, and the people in it. I can’t wait to read this novel.

About leatherboundpounds

I am a Perth writer who reads plenty and thinks too much. Here are my adventures in literature, one page at a time. View all posts by leatherboundpounds

5 responses to “Today in memorable opening paragraphs

Leave a Reply

