Today in memorable opening paragraphs


I slink up her calves and over her thighs to wrap around her buttocks and across her hips. I creep further, covering her torso, my teeth clenching on her back as she guides the tab to the top of the zipper where it disappears beneath the ostrich plumes. 

The Magpie’s Nest, Jacqueline Perry-Strickland

Whenever you can open a novel with a passage from the point of view of an enchanted dress it’s imperative that you do so.

About leatherboundpounds

I am a Perth writer who reads plenty and thinks too much. Here are my adventures in literature, one page at a time. View all posts by leatherboundpounds

One response to “Today in memorable opening paragraphs

  • Jacqueline Perry-Strickland

    LOVE IT! Sorry I’ve taken a while to respond to this gorgeous statement. I was under orders by my editor, Ann Harth, to make the gown the central character and was faced with an entire rewrite of the novel … so I came up with three sneakily inserted scenes – a Prelude, Interval and Afterpiece in the gown’s POV to head her off. And it worked! Ha! Take that!
    So, if you’d ever like to join the monthly Magpie’s Nest walking tour, let me know, Rachel. I’ve done two and they’re a blast. The March one is booked up but spots are available in April on the 18th, and there might be one in May, as well. Contact me for details! Jacqueline@noetik.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

