Welcome to 2015: looking forward, looking back


So, we’re a few days into 2015. Hope it’s treating you well so far. I’m setting some goals for the year, particularly in terms of increasing the diversity in my reading. But first, lets look at some stats from last year.

Books read: 39

Australian Women Writers challenge: 13

Five star reviews: 8

Four star reviews: 16

Three star reviews: 12

Two star reviews: 2

One star reviews: 1

LGBT themes: 6

Writers of colour: 0

Yes, I’m horrified by that big old zero sitting there too. So, I’m going to double my efforts to read more Indigenous Australian writing and work by other writers of colour.

My goals for 2015:

Books to read: 50

Australian Women Writers Challenge: 10

Indigenous Australian & non-white authors: 10

I’m keen for recommendations for work by non-white writers. Lay them on me and I’ll get cracking. And while you’re at it, let me know what your goals are for the year.

About leatherboundpounds

I am a Perth writer who reads plenty and thinks too much. Here are my adventures in literature, one page at a time. View all posts by leatherboundpounds

2 responses to “Welcome to 2015: looking forward, looking back

  • Amy

    I will certainly be reading along to get an insight from you into Australian indigenous fiction – I recall that I specifically looked in my final year of university (to go alongside the non-fiction I was reading at the time) and I didn’t come up with much that was available in libraries, even here in NZ. That year, I read and loved Carpentaria by Alexis Wright, so I can recommend that if you haven’t already read it.

    From New Zealand, Alan Duff and Witi Ihimaera are excellent Maori authors. As is Keri Hulme – I plan to read The Bone People soon. From Canada, I enjoyed The Orenda by Joseph Boyden.

    My goal for this year is to move as seamlessly as possible from beloved real books to an e-reader as I am travelling overseas for much of the year. Wish me luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

