Right now


milkyway-edge

The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago. The second best time is now.

I have been AWOL. I have been working hard, at a paid job, at making lifestyle changes, at health, at being a team member.  It hasn’t be awful. In fact, I’ve been feeling a more complete person than ever of late. But I have also felt myself spread thin, my claws peeking through too few coats of nail varnish. We’re all animals, deep down.

I haven’t been reading a great deal, though I have unwritten reviews to publish, and the to be read pile grows ever deeper. I wade through pages, and dreams, and plans that might never come to fruition every day, and then I pull on my running shoes and head out the door. I look around my house and think that it needs some paint, that the sills need stripping back, that a little love and care might make it feel more a home and less a stop off on the way to somewhere else, where ever that may be, and I grab my car keys and go to work. I get home when it’s dark and I head back out with the dog, to the park where I can hear frogs calling from their frog homes when it rains and, if I listen very closely, bats chirruping when it’s dry.

During a long power cut in Los Angeles emergency services received calls from people all over the city, reporting a vast swathe of sky flecked with white; an immense crack through the dome of the night. The fears of a people having never seen the stars. I have no map, so I try to look up as often as I can, that’s what the stars are for, after all. If stars can be said to have a purpose. Some things just are.

I hope you’re well. I hope your reading is filling your heart and mind. I have been reading N by John A. Scott and wondering why I haven’t heard more people raving about it. It is wonderful and frightening and beautifully written. Alternate history and what-ifs, it makes me think of my own decisions, those quirks of fate that send us all down our own particular current. I have a collection of brand new (to me) books on my shelves. Tiger Milk by Stefanie De VelascoTrio by Geraldine WoollerThe Lightning Tree, Emily Woof, all keen to me at night, begging me to open their pages. My Kindle is full of books I owe reviews on. I will get there. It just might not be soon.

About leatherboundpounds

I am a Perth writer who reads plenty and thinks too much. Here are my adventures in literature, one page at a time. View all posts by leatherboundpounds

7 responses to “Right now

Leave a Reply

