The terror of eight vacant hours


tobeawriter

So, let’s talk about time management. Because over the past four years or so I’ve been able to get a phenomenal amount done,  though none of which was what I intended to accomplish. In a few days (!!) I won’t have a full time job to keep me honest and I won’t have a full time income either. I need to carefully manage the oodles of time I suddenly will have so it doesn’t end up being spent watching trashy TV (my current favourite is Inkmaster) and making giant squid cushions.

I find when I’m at home writing I am able to get more done than I would have thought. I have written for eight hours straight in the past. But will that continue? What schedule do you keep? How do you ensure you actually finish things?

(But seriously, giant squid cushions for the win.)

About leatherboundpounds

I am a Perth writer who reads plenty and thinks too much. Here are my adventures in literature, one page at a time. View all posts by leatherboundpounds

5 responses to “The terror of eight vacant hours

  • ambfoxx

    I envy your eight hours a day of writing. (Enjoyed wasting a minute marveling at the squid cushions. I’d like someone to give me one, but I won’t be making any.) I get that much writing time in the summer when college is on break and I get into such a groove with it I even write during meals, You’ll thrive. It won’t be terrifying–at least not in my experience. I don’t need a schedule–I just find a natural rhythm during those months and love it. During the academic year I have to write in the evenings and on weekends but I think of it as my reward for everything else I’ve gotten done. No schedule needed then, either. But that’s me. I don’t give myself words per day goals. Some days I need to fix things a lot, others I need to flow. Enjoy your eight hours.

    Like

  • Jane Bryony Rawson

    This is so great, and I’m very jealous. You should definitely make time in there to sew a giant squid cushion. I’m currently thinking of procrastinating by making this https://tinyowlknits.wordpress.com/mr-fox-stole-my-heart/. As to my schedule, when I had all-day writing time (at Varuna) I thought I’d need to be rigorous and treat it like a paid-work day, but in the end I found there was nothing I wanted to do more than write. It was cool to go for a walk in the bush now and then, or go into town and op-shop for a bit or have a beer, because the writing always pulled me back. But on the off-chance it doesn’t, I think having a ‘must sit at the desk and write something’ schedule of at least a few hours a day is a good idea, for those times when writing is a chore but you have to stay in shape anyway. Treat it like exercise (a thing I know nothing about) – you may not really want to go on a long bike ride today, but you should go on a short one so when you finally feel like a long one you’ll still have riding chops to do it. Or something.

    Like

    • leatherboundpounds

      I hope it turns out like that. I’ve managed to squeeze in a great deal of writing around full time work and full on derby commitments over the past few years, I wonder if there’s something about the act of finding time for writing that makes it so productive.

      I’m really lucky, I know. This is a great problem to have!

      Like

      • Jane Bryony Rawson

        I reckon the combination of self-discipline, which you’ve already developed, and real yearning to write should see you right. Ignore the self-doubt, give yourself time and space to do things other than writing without feeling guilty, and it should go fine. It’s good you have an end date, that’ll make it easier to get on with it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

